HSFR/HFG End of Project Regional Report – Tigray

Resource Type: Report
Authors: Ethiopia Health Sector Financing Reform/Health Finance and Governance Project
Published: June 2018

Resource Description: Tigray is northernmost of Ethiopia’s nine regions. It is divided into seven administrative zones – South, South East, East, Central, North West, West, and Mekelle city – and has 52 woredas (34 rural and 18 urban). According to Ethiopian Central Statistical Agency projections, the region has a population of approximately 5.2 million people, the majority of whom are farmers. About 30 years ago, there were only four hospitals and 10 health centers in the region, all in urban areas. Community ownership of health facilities was poor and private sector engagement in the health sector minimal. Since 1991, various regional government initiatives have significantly improved access to health services, with the addition of hospitals and health centers throughout the region and construction of health posts in each kebele. Today, there are 712 health posts, 204 health centers, 22 primary hospitals, 14 general hospitals, and one specialized hospital in Tigray.


Tags: ,

Back to Top